Interactive Whiteboards in Australia

News, ideas and discussion about interactive whiteboards in education

Ripping images from Google to use in flipcharts

Posted by rosiemacalpine on March 10, 2009

Before discovering Dear Computer, Google Images was my main source of images for flipcharts. Particularly since I discovered that you can search by size, type (e.g. line drawings, photos) or colour. Here’s a previous post about these features.

Since I’ve found the advantages of Dear Computer, this has become my first stop for images. You can narrow a search in the same way as you can using Google Images, (as it is still using Google to look for the images) but Dear Computer saves you two clicks for every image you see. That might not sound like much, but it’s easy to browse through multiple images for a flipchart before you find what you are looking for.

Here’s the results of a Google Image search for simple machines:

image

If I want to look at the third thumbnail along, I click on it to go to the page with the image. Then I need to click the link at the top of the page to see the full sized image.

Searching for Simple Machines in Dear Computer puts all the images in their full size on the page.

image

Then I can just use the camera tool to grab the images that I would like, or right-click> copy then paste them on my flipchart page.

http://dearcomputer.nl/gir/

2 Responses to “Ripping images from Google to use in flipcharts”

  1. Chris said

    How does Dear Computer handle the issues of copyright, etc. Does it offer any sort of Creative Commons search?
    My big issue with Google Images is that there are no checks and balances fr copyrighted material, and it can set a really bad example for kids thinking they can just take any image they find online.

    • rosiemacalpine said

      Dear Computer doesn’t have a Creative Commons search as far as I know.
      I tend to use Creative Commons search of Flickr for images when I’m making resource packs etc.

Leave a Reply

 
