Interactive Whiteboards in Australia

News, ideas and discussion about interactive whiteboards in education

Using Google Images more effectively

Posted by rosiemacalpine on December 10, 2008

When I’m making a flipchart for my whiteboard, my first stop for images is the Resource Library. The Search function (magnifying glass symbol) is quick and effective, and I’m often surprised how many resources are available for my topic.

If I’m doing something more specific though, or would like a change, my next stop is Google Images.

Here’s my five top tips for getting the results you want with Google Images.

1. Be specific. Typing cake into Google images returns 44,400,000 images. Chocolate cake returns 3,120,000. Slice chocolate cake returns 216,000 – much better. I’m still not going to go past page 1 or 2, but at least nearly all the images returned are slices of chocolate cake.

2. Change the image size. At the top left just above the results, there is a drop down menu allowing you to change the image size. This is particularly useful if you are looking for something that will cover your whole screen, like a background or a painting. When I wanted to search for Monet’s Water Lilies, I changed the image size to Large, which brought the results I wanted.

3. Change the content. Next to the image size menu, there is a content menu. You can change this to Photos, Faces, or News to refine your search.

4. Use Advanced Image Search. This is to the right of the search box. I particularly like being able to change the colour. If you search for black and white, it will often return clipart/ drawings. Greyscale is also nice if you are looking for old-fashioned photos.

5. Have a quick link to Google Images. You might want to include it on your links or Bookmarks bar, or set your search box to go to Google Images.

If you use Firefox, there’s an even easier option. You can set up  Firefox Quick Searches in your address bar. So if I want to search Google Images for chocolate cake, I type gi chocolate cake into the address bar and press enter, and the results come on my screen. I also have similar shortcut searches for YouTube, imdb, wikipedia etc. Have a look at this blog post if you’d like to try it.

Once you’ve got your picture, use the camera tool, copy and paste or drag it on to your flipchart page. And as always, checking copyright is a good idea.

2 Responses to “Using Google Images more effectively”

  1. […] few weeks ago, I posted some tips on how to use Google images more effectively to find images for your Promethean flipcharts/ other IWB software. When I came back from holidays, […]

  2. […] Posted by rosiemacalpine on March 10, 2009 Before discovering Dear Computer, Google Images was my main source of images for flipcharts. Particularly since I discovered that you can search by size, type (e.g. line drawings, photos) or colour. Here’s a previous post about these features. […]

Leave a Reply

 
